Nick Diaz to fight Gomi at PRIDE 33?

     It was reported by mmaweekly.com on Saturday that Nick Diaz signed a contract tonickdiaz.JPG fight for PRIDE FC, along with Elite Xtreme Combat, and move down to lightweight from welterweight. It is believed that he will be fighting on the PRIDE 33 “the second coming” Feb 24th card in Las Vegas against either Hayato “Mach” Sakurai or Takanori Gomi. Today mmaweekly.com is reporting that King Of the Cage fighter Mac Danzig signed a two fight contract with PRIDE and he confirmed that he will be fighting against Sakurai in his first fight at PRIDE 33. The article states:

Over the past year Mac Danzig has worked hard to achieve his goal of finally participating on the biggest stage of MMA and now finally he’ll have his opportunity to do so, as Mac told MMAWeekly exclusively, “It’s official, I’m finally getting my chance to fight in PRIDE [on February 24th in Las Vegas].”

Danzig continued, “I’m fighting the [MMAWeekly] #2 Ranked Lightweight fighter in the world, [Hayoto] “Mach” Sakurai. I couldn’t be more excited – this is the fight I’ve been waiting for since I started training – I’m honored to get a chance to do it. It’s probably going to be the biggest show of the year, so I’m really excited.”

Mac’s deal is for two fights and he intends to show people that all the buzz he’s garnered over the past year will be delivered upon next month.

“On February 24th, people are going to see the best Mac Danzig possible,” exclaimed Danzig. “I’m coming in there with my A+ game and they should expect nothing less of me. I’m giving it all I got, I’m preparing harder than I ever have for this fight, and the motivation is all there to do it.”

This makes a dream fight between Nick Diaz and Gomi the most likely scenario. Everyone know that styles make fights, and I think they match up very well together. I think that Diaz will prove to be a huge test for Gomi if this indeed goes down.

The only fight that has been confirmed by PRIDE is the middleweight championship fight between Wanderlei Silva and Dan Henderson. If these other two fights happen, and with all of the other participants that will be fighting, this is definitely a Pay Per View that I will be ordering. PRIDE always puts on a good show, and I can’t wait for Feb 24th.

Stay tuned for more updates, and please leave some feedback in the comments section. Also check mmalowdown out on Myspace and add us as a friend.

1 Comment

Filed under Elite Xtreme Combat, Hayato Sakurai, Mac Danzig, Nick Diaz, PRIDE 33, PRIDE FC, Takanori Gomi

One response to “Nick Diaz to fight Gomi at PRIDE 33?

  1. Pingback: PRIDE confirms four more fights for “the Second Coming” « MMA news, rumors, and updates

Leave a Reply

